Dec 192010
ARC Atlantic Crossing 25th Awards Ceremony

ARC Atlantic Crossing - 25th Awards Ceremony

The  25th ARC-  Atlantic Rally for Cruisers came to an end last night at an awards ceremony held at Gaiety Nightclub in Saint Lucia.

Hundreds of participants remained or returned to Saint Lucia for the prize giving ceremony, which started as crews gathered in the gardens of the venue to enjoy a rum punch to the sounds of a local steel band.

After thanking the sixteen net controllers for their help in running the SSB Radio Net during the crossing, the Group B yachts sang their own rendition of the 12 Nights of Christmas with verses composed in a competition held over the SSB radio net.

Returning for their third ARC, having sailed in the first and tenth events, were Stale and Annelise Larsen of Viking Crusader (NOR) who were awarded best couple on corrected time. Voted the most beautiful yacht of ARC2010 by the participants, the classic schooner Texel (GBR) was also the oldest yacht (1921). The seven yachts still at sea, all got a special mention.

During the crossing a total of 1333 logs were received from 99 yachts, together with hundreds of photographs. Prizes were awarded to Sulana (GBR), for their daily descriptions of life at sea, Meltemi (GER) for the most visited log (5263 times), and Amelit (SWE) for best overall log of ARC2010.

Father and son team Peter and Will Nelson from Time Warp (USA) won the Spirit of the ARC Award for their unfailing enthusiasm and willingness to join in all ARC activities, from helping to plant the ARC Forest to singing on the radio net.  The Spirit of the ARC Award has been presented every year since 1987 to the crew or individuals who most embody the cameraderie of the rally.

Cosimo Winner Jimmy Cornell Trophy Division 1

Cosimo - Winner of the Jimmy Cornell Trophy

After the interval participants and guests re-assembled in the hall for the second part of the ceremony started by a solo trumpet rendition of the St. Lucia National Anthem, and followed by welcome speeches from Louis Lewis, Director St Lucia Tourist Board, Adam Foster, General Manager IGY Rodney Bay Marina, and Allen Chastenet, Minister of Tourism.

Overall Winner of the Cruising Division, Cosimo (French flagged, with Italian owner and crew) were presented with the Jimmy Cornell Trophy, and the SLASPA Trophy for winning Class E. The RORC Racing Division was won by EH01 (GBR), the Beneteau First 47.7 of Global Yacht Racing.

With a showering of confetti, the ceremony, and ARC2010, were brought to a close.

 1:45 am  Yachts

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.